HOT AND BOTHERED: Science Gallery's global event on climate justice | Art Jobs

HOT AND BOTHERED: Science Gallery's global event on climate justice

Share

Type:

Date: 
Thursday, July 14, 2022

HOT AND BOTHERED is a free, four-day online event taking place from 14-17th July 2022 across time zones that will bring together young people across the globe to connect, exchange ideas and share knowledge to foster action for climate justice.

Register for the event here. Free and open to everyone.

We see climate change for what it is: a crisis. But HOT AND BOTHERED aims to create a hopeful and joyful space where young people can become change agents to reduce climate doom and generate alternative narratives. Science Gallery locations and young people will deliver a programme of performances, workshops and games to discuss indigenous climate knowledges, understand the power of data visualisation, co-create activist manifestos, share climate emotions, build youth agency, and more. Register now to join artists, scientists, designers, activists, environmental educators, and performers in this global event.

HIGHLIGHTED SESSIONS

Registering for the event gives you access to all the sessions across the four days. Here are some highlights that you might not want to miss!

Embodied Climate Knowledge
Thursday, 14 July, 7am EDT/1pm CET/4:30pm IST/9pm AEST

How can embodied climate knowledge help to build resilient climate futures? Explore this question with writer and researcher Dr Cass Lynch, who will draw on her research into the oral storytelling tradition of the Noongar community, Aboriginal Australian people who live in Western Australia.

2052: Hot Or Not?
Thursday, 14 July, 8:30am EDT/2:30pm CET/6pm IST/10:30pm AEST

What might the Earth look like in 30 years if we continue living the way we are right now?
This workshop by the Xperimenters from Science Gallery Bengaluru will display and discuss speculative visions of the Earth in 2052, as conceptualised by young adults in India. These visions will explore the state of the environment and how human society deals with it to reflect upon the Earth by 2052.

Climate Emergency Interactive
Thursday, 14 July, 11am EDT/5pm CET/8:30pm IST and 16 July, 9am CET/12:30pm IST/5pm IST

Co-created by a collaborative group of students at the University of the Arts London, film director Martin Percy and UAL Graduate Natasha Mays will facilitate this interactive film screening to create conversations about the climate emergency between fellow change-makers worldwide.

Remaking your narrative: Climate justice through storytelling
Friday, 15 July, 12pm CET/3:30pm IST/8pm AEST

The narrative of climate justice often focuses on European young people’s movements. Through storytelling, Sydney-based climate activists Varsha Yajman and Manjot Kaur, in partnership with Science Gallery Melbourne, will introduce how to use decolonising approaches of unlearning to ensure that climate justice narratives are reflective of their and their communities’ experiences.

Live Local: A Scavenger Hunt For Survival
Saturday, 16 July, 11am CET/2:30pm IST/7pm AEST

The 20-minute neighbourhood model looks at how residents of a neighbourhood can meet most of their daily needs without travelling by car or public transport. Theatre-makers Amie Taylor and Jennifer Lunn will invite attendees to go on a physical scavenger hunt of their local neighbourhood and return online to share their findings with a global community.

Get started with climate visualisations
Saturday, 16 July, 1pm CET/4:30pm IST/9pm AEST

Computer scientist David Curran will introduce how to make climate data visualisations employing the programming language R and use the power of visual storytelling to address the climate crisis.

The disastrous stakeholder game
Sunday, 17 July, 11am CET/2:30pm AEST/7pm IST

The Netherlands is well known for its ‘polder model’, a process of decision making based on consensus. But can we solve problems like climate change with this method? Join this interactive game led by Science Gallery Rotterdam’s mediators to have a seat at the table. Pitch, mix, argue, compromise and build alliances to make it work!

Explore the entire programme and register: https://sciencegallery.org/youth-symposium

Location: 
Online
Call for Submissions

Culturally Arts Collective

London, New York, Rome

Modern Renaissance Magazine Open Call

15/July/2022

Residency

Art League of Long Island

Dix Hills

Art League of Long Island Resident Artist Membership 2022-2023

30/June/2022

Call for Submissions

Marvelous Art Gallery

Top 100 Artists to Watch in 2022

31/July/2022

Call for Entries

Takahiro Kanie

Tokyo

Call for entries “JIA Illustration Award 2022”

30/June/2022

Call for Submissions

projektado

London

Ageing from Existence

01/August/2022

Call for Artists

Elephant

Elephant X Art Gazette

26/June/2022

Residency

Space A

Kathmandu

Kathmandu International Artist in Residency - KIAR 2023

30/June/2022

Call for Artists

Big Screen Plaza

New York

Open Call: #ArtOnScreen - An Exhibition in New York City

31/July/2022

Call for Artists

Al-Tiba9 Contemporary Art

CALL FOR ARTISTS - Interview with an Al-Tiba9 Contemporary Art

30/July/2022

Call for Artists

Agora Digital Art

International / Online

The Dream

31/July/2022

Call for Artists

ARTJOBS.com

Artist Of The Month ( June )

30/June/2022

Call for Artists

Flux Laboratory Athens

Athens

EXPERIMENT A - Open call for scientists & choreographers

01/July/2022

Call for Artists

Artist Space Gallery

Online

Portrait Art Contest

13/July/2022

Call for Artists

Light Space & Time Online Art Gallery

Santa Fe/Online

12th Annual “Open” (No Theme) Online Art Competition

27/June/2022

Call for Artists

THE HOLY ART

NOSTALGIA II

03/July/2022

Call for Artists

Mattie Kelly Arts Center Galleries of Northwest Florida State College

Niceville

30th annual Emerald Coast National Juried Art Exhibition

01/July/2022

Call for Artists

artless Bastard, Inc

De Pere

Figuratively Speaking

01/July/2022

Workshop

Banff Centre for Arts and Creativity

Banff

Adventure Filmmakers Workshop - Fall 2022

17/August/2022

Contest

The FaFa Gallery

Midland

Open call

27/June/2022